This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Fastest half-mile ever x 4 !! March 13, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 1:56 am

Today at the gym I ran the fastest I have ever run a half mile and I repeated it 4 times. I printed off a new plan that had mile repeats, but as I was running, my mind won over and I couldn’t convince myself I could make a whole mile straight at that pace, so I ran a half mile, then slowed down for a quarter mile and repeated that for a total of one mile at a 7.5 on the treadmill and one mile at 8.0. after that I did finish it out with a quarter mile at 8.5. It was really tough, but I felt so great about the effort when I was done. I haven’t run that hard in a long time – if ever! I know that speed work is going to help me be a faster runner and so is strength training, so I am doing my best to do some of each.

I read another blog – nyc running mama – and her post today was perfect for me (too bad I didn’t read it this morning). It says that training your brain is just as important as training your legs. Sometimes the hardest part of a workout is not allowing yourself to give up. I hope that in the next few weeks I can work up to doing the whole mile repeat straight. You have to start somewhere I keep telling myself – I will get there!! I felt so strong today, but yet I was just a touch disappointed that I didn’t try a little harder to clear my mind and go the whole mile.

Thanks for entering my giveaway and if you haven’t entered yet, please do and please pass the word to anybody else you think would be interested!

Run fast, run far
Penny

 

2 Responses to “Fastest half-mile ever x 4 !!”

  1. bjwitte@embarqmail.com Says:

    Way to go Penny! That is fast 🙂 The amount of jogging that I do could never compare to what you do, but I have slowly started back at the treadmill since my surgery. I was on the treadmill for 2 miles, I will not tell you how long it took… but I tried to run and then let my mind tell me “that’s good enough… slow down now and walk for a bit”… I am certain that I could have jogged a lot more but my mind kept telling me otherwise. I’ll keep your above post in mind tomorrow when I attempt it again. Take care and keep up the good work. Jeri

    • pennyverdeck Says:

      You just take as much time as you want. I’m just proud of you for being so great and having such a great attitude. You’ll be suprised what you’ll be able to do if you give it a little more time. You are an inspiration to me – i hope some day i will be as wonderful as you!


Leave a Reply

