This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Unofficial start of summer May 29, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 12:58 am
Tags:

So, Memorial Day weekend has come and gone. It marks the “Unofficial” start of summer in most places most years. Well, I’m here to tell you that this year, here in central Minnesota, summer has NOT arrived!

My family went camping this past weekend just like we have for the last 13 years or so. This year, my husband made a stop at home in the middle of the weekend for my girls’ WINTER COATS & HATS! It was so cold at the lake, you could see your breath while talking.

It has been cold before, but never like that. If you could get out of the wind, or were the lucky one that got to sit with the wind at your back at the campfire, it was a little better.

Thank goodness we have a camper with a heater. I spent a fair amount of time inside reading, but it was really relaxing and the books were good. I read 2 by James Patterson – 1st to die and 2nd chance – they were pretty good. I like a good mystery just as much as a good drama.

This weekend is the Buffalo Triathlon. I recruited a new friend to be a part of a team – she is biking and I am swimming and running. The friend that is usually part of a team with me ended up having to work this weekend, so we have to go without her. That’s a bummer, but I am still looking forward to the event. They do a great job with it. It’s one of the few bigger triathlons that I do each year. The weekend after, we travel to Winona, MN for another triathlon. This year, the girls are doing the kids race on Saturday too, I think that will be fun to watch too.

Do you like to read? What kind of books? Do you have a favorite you would recommend? Please share, I love new suggestions for books.

 

Leave a Reply

