This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

New Friends – or should I say Frenemies July 12, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 2:10 am
Tags: ,

Welcome back!

When I last blogged, I made a goal to make a new friend. I gave it a try on Sunday. Let me just say I should have planned a little better because it was about 85 degrees when I set out biking. Oh well, you have to do what you have to do.

I went on a different road from the last long ride, which was another poor choice. This road was WAY bumpier and had much more traffic. Moving on…

I set out and started with a warm up. Once I felt good and warmed up, I down shifted and tried to see what I could do. I went on for about 10 miles before I decided I needed to take a little break from trying so hard. I went along for a little recovery and at the 15 mile mark, I turned around and kicked it back down for a little longer. It actually wasn’t too bad (after the little recover time) and I headed home. The last 5 miles, I decided to really see what I had – as it turns out, I didn’t have much left in the tank.

When I got home, I had intended to do a little run too – nothing like a last minute brick workout, but I had too much of the heat and I was completely spent. I changed into my swim suit and jumped right into to pool!!! It felt so good – I was so hot!! Even the girls were worried about the zombie like appearance – I explained that I was just really hot and tired from the 30 mile ride in the heat. (They were so sweet!!)

As I was riding, I noticed that my bike was making a new noise that I didn’t really like. I cleaned the chain and tried to make it stop, but had no luck. So….currently my bike is at the bike hospital (ok, bike shop) being make perfect again for my race on Saturday.

So, my goal for Saturday: finish faster than last year – I honestly would be happy with 1 second faster. Both of the triathlons I did this year have actually been slower than last year. My hope is the reason they were slower is because it was rainy for both of them, so it slowed me down a little. I feel strong and ready for this race. I’ve had some great fast paced runs and my swim this week felt pretty good. I’ve put more miles on my bike so far this year than I did the whole biking season last year. I am ready!

Wish me luck, I’ll let you know how it goes – you know I will!!

 

One Response to “New Friends – or should I say Frenemies”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Good luck Penny, it sounds like you are ready. I’ll be cheering you on while I’m at a swim meet.


Leave a Reply

