This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

10 mile run July 30, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 12:43 am

As you may remember, I picked the Train Like A Mother: Own-It Training plan for this fall’s half marathon, this is week 3 and I have to admit – I’m a little nervous.

This weekend (which was actually the end of week 2) was a 10 mile run with the middle 2 at race pace. If I want to run a 2:05 half, race pace is right around 9:30. I’ll admit that I didn’t quite know what to expect with trying to pace. I have always just run my long run at whatever felt comfortable. If I want to hit a certain pace, I usually run on the treadmill. The last month or so, I’ve been doing speedwork outside and survived, so I had nothing to lose with this long run. I didn’t do too bad, the first pace mile was 9:27 (not bad!) and the 2nd was 9:10 (oops, a little fast) and then I just settled back into my easy pace for the rest of the way home.

The weather was perfect for running – 60ish degrees – completely out of the ordinary for July in MN.

I am really happy with how it worked out. Next time I’ll have to monitor my pacing a little better – I learned a little, so maybe I can get closer. Although….next time I need to do race pace is 14 miles with the middle 5 at race pace – eeek!!

For this week, today was to be 3 easy miles. The problem with that was I felt like I could fly today. I tried to slow down and I couldn’t. I ran and fast was easy – I wish every run felt like that. I usually finish my 3 miles at 12:10 – today it was 12:05. I always leave for lunch at the exact same time, so the clock on the bank is the timer for me. I like the fact that I can run watch free and still have something to judge my time.

Tomorrow is a 5 miler – I can just squeak that in on my lunch hour – it will be close and then Thursday is 6 miles – that I’ll have to run after work – at least until I can run a little faster 🙂

Happy week to everyone – wish me fast feet!!

 

2 Responses to “10 mile run”

  1. Jeri Says:

    I was going o send you an e-mail today to ask about your 10 miler and now I don’t have to. Sounds like you did a bang up job as usual. Way to go girl

  2. Cindy Says:

    Wishing you fast feet!!:)


Leave a Reply

