This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Half marathon training peak week September 14, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 2:38 am

Hey there!

Well, the kids are back in school, which also means that all of the fall activities are in full swing too. We have Volleyball Monday, Piano Tuesday, Dance Wednesday, and Soccer Thursday. Then Friday is a free night (I went biking tonight) and Saturday mornings are both Soccer and Volleyball games, so Ryan and I will be going different directions for the next 6 weeks to take the girls to their games. I guess it’s good we only have 2 kids since there are only 2 of us.

My half marathon training plan is in full swing this week. I had a 6 mile tempo run on Tuesday, a 7 mile hill run Thursday and the weekend is 15 miles and the longest run of the plan.

Tuesday was hot and windy and my run was AWFUL. I struggled through and wouldn’t let myself quit. It was supposed to be a warm up mile, 4 fast and a mile cool down. I downsized that to 3 fast, but my fast was really fast. 8:06, 8:05 8:03. If I could have paced them to 8:15 each, I bet I would have made the whole 4. When I reviewed the stats from my watch, it shows I didn’t even average such a bad pace overall, but it sure felt hard. I was really relieved to have Wednesday as a rest day.

So on Thursday, I had a plan to run a really hilly route. I took advise from the cross country coach and planned to run in the cemetery. It is pretty hilly, but the roads are really nice and smooth. There aren’t really any long downhills, which is what I need to practice for the Mankato half, but many downhills works. I felt amazing during this run, absolutely amazing! I averaged a 9:24 pace for those 7 miles. If I can average that pace for the half, I would beat my goal.

Tonight I went out for a 22 mile bike ride. I mostly tried to take it easy. When I hit the 14 mile mark, I turned right into the bright sun, so it seemed extra difficult because I couldn’t really see where I was going and I was a little afraid cars wouldn’t be able to see me. Then the sun was finally down enough that I wasn’t blind, but then I got nervous that it was going to be too dark, so I pedaled extra fast to get home. I averaged 16.9. I’ll take that since I took it pretty easy for most of it.

Next weekend is the Iron Girl. I plan to do my best to enjoy the race and feel good about my efforts. I’ll be extra happy if I can be a little faster than last year. This will be my 5th year participating in this event. It holds a special place in my heart because it was the first multi-sport event I ever participated in. I’ll let you know how it goes!

I hope everyone has a great weekend and that you get out to enjoy fall, it really is a beautiful time of year. Tonight is absolutely beautiful. It would be a great night for snuggling up at a campfire!

 

One Response to “Half marathon training peak week”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Penny, you kill me. It sounds like you are doing a great job training and enjoying it at the same time. Good luck at the iron girl – you will do awesome as usual.


Leave a Reply

