This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

15 mile run update September 21, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 12:55 am

I should have updated earlier this week, but I ran out of time. Sorry!

Sunday morning I got up nice and early for my 15 miler. I wanted to get done early and make sure it didn’t get hot before I was done. As it turns out, it wasn’t a problem because it was cool, windy and damp the whole time I was running.

I started out nice and easy (and on a gravel road). The middle 6 miles were supposed to be at race pace. I hit mile 5 and started to speed up. The 5th mile was a little slower than I wanted (9:47) but, it was up a big hill and straight into the wind. At mile 6 I turned and the wind was at my side and I knew it would stay there for the next 5 miles. That really helped my pace and the next 5 clicked in at 9:25, 9:23, 9:21, 9:19, 9:12. The goal was 9:30! Yea! It felt great and I never once wanted to stop and walk. Then at the 11 mile mark it was time to turn back onto the gravel road, but the wind was at my back. It felt good to run with the wind and the gravel didn’t even bother me this time. I was supposed to cool down again for the final 4 miles, but they just seemed to float by and my final mile was back under 9:30. And to add to the good feelings, I honestly could have run farther if it would have been in the plan.

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t feeling very confident going into this run, but I gained a lot back after this run. It is always very rewarding to have a great long run.

When I got home, I had the whole house to myself, so I decided to give an ice bath a try. I didn’t have a lot of ice cubes, but I ran the cold water and added what I had. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I could really feel my muscles tightening and knew the relaxation would be helpful. I sat for a while and it really helped. I wore my compression socks the rest of the day and on Monday morning, my legs didn’t even know I ran 15 miles. I did get a bit of a knot in my left calf, but it went away after a few days.

The Iron Girl is Sunday, so it shouldn’t be a week until I post again. I’m looking forward to the event.

Happy Friday everyone!

 

One Response to “15 mile run update”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Best of luck to you on Sunday Penny! I’ll be thinking of you. Great job on the 15 mile run… sounds like a breeze 🙂


Leave a Reply

