This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Turkey Tag-along 5K November 29, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 2:25 am

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!!

This morning I ran in the 5th Annual Turkey Tag-along 5K in Howard Lake. This is the first time I’ve run this race. It was a lot of fun. It was hilly. The timing worked out perfectly and I joined the rest of my family at my Father-in-law’s house just in time to start the ham for lunch.

I’ve been following a different “fastest 5k” training plan. It had me running some fast miles and some long runs and I followed it as closely as I could. Most of my recent runs have been on the treadmill, but I’ve covered the distance with some serious speed as instructed.

As I was driving to the race, I watched the temperature fall more and more on the thermometer in the car. It finally stopped dropping at 21 degrees. That isn’t so bad for this time of year, last weekend it was colder than that and really windy when I ran outside, so as long as the wind wasn’t crazy, I was comfortable with the temps.

I arrived at the school to get my packet and number. Packet pickup was a breeze and I put my number on and attached my chip, then took the rest of the stuff back to the car. The t-shirt is kinda cute. I wore it all day.
image

As I was waiting for the race to start (inside where it was warm) I noticed my friend Stacy was there. This is the girl who is running the half marathon with me on Saturday – neither of us knew the other was going to be there today. We visited for a minute or two and then I let her back to the group of friends she was there with. I did talk to them a couple minutes again before the start, but they sent me away from them because I had goals for this race and they didn’t think they would be sticking with me..they were only a little behind me at the end.

I started the race and just tried to remain positive and run. There was one woman who just looked serious, so I tried to keep her in my sights for the race. It worked out pretty well. I could see her the whole race, she was never more than a half of a block ahead of me. I took the uphills as strong as I could and I did my best to cruise the downhills – it worked well. Since I had never done this race before and they had no maps to show the course, I had no idea what was coming or where I was. The course was really well marked though, so I knew I couldn’t/wouldn’t get lost, and they had mile markers, so I knew how far I had been. At the one mile, I felt great, by the mile 2 marker, I was searching for it thinking it was taking a long time to get there, after that, I just kept telling myself to hold on. I could tell I was working hard, but I knew I could finish it strong. I rounded the final corner and kicked it in for the final block. I was trying to see the clock, but the sun was shining right on it, so I couldn’t see what it said until I was right next to it.

My goal for this race was a new Personal Record (PR) for the 5k distance. My previous fastest one was during the Buffalo Triathlon this year (team event where I swam and ran) and that was 25:54. Today’s race I clocked 24:19!!! (Which is good for 30th out of 220 runners!) That is a serious improvement!! I can’t believe how my running has improved this fall. I can really say that all of the miles I’ve been putting in this summer/fall have paid off. I am so proud of my accomplishments!

I hope all of you had a great Thanksgiving! I am thankful for all of you, all of my friends, my wonderful family, the ablility I have been given as a runner (old and newly found fastness) just to list a few things.

Tomorrow is a rest day before the half marathon on Saturday. I’m not planning on running a new record time race on Saturday, since we (Stacy & I) declared that as a fun run day, but I will still plan to post and let you all know how it goes.  

 

One Response to “Turkey Tag-along 5K”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Way to go Penny. I love the shirt too.


Leave a Reply

