This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

New Year – Polar Dash 14 miler January 2, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 1:23 am

Happy New Year!

Many other bloggers have been doing posts with ‘the best of’ or their new years resolutions, but I was really busy this week and didn’t get to it, so we’re skipping over it and moving on to the race recap from my first race of the year.

Some time last fall Team Ortho, which is a local race company, announced that they were having a new race distance for the new year – 14 miles in 2014. I am always up for an interesting challenge, and let’s be honest, it’s a bummer that the 2 longest race distances jump from 13.1 to 26.2 miles, there is not a lot of choices in between, so I had to jump at the challenge.

I signed up and talked my running friend Stacy into going with me – so much better with a friend! We plan to do more races together this year. And honestly, we run really well together, we keep pace with each other without saying anything. She speeds up and I keep up, I speed up and she keeps up – it works great!

The weather forecast for the day had the high temperature at +1. Yep plus one! It never got above zero yesterday, so a plus was a bonus. I’m not sure it hit that temperate while we were running, but we didn’t turn into popsicles, so it’s all good.  We talked about how much bundling we were planning and made a final decision in the car. Hand warmers in our gloves and extra scarves and off we went.

We made a quick stop at the port o potties – which are cold in the winter – just sayin! And made it to the start line. We bounced around a little to try to warm up and before long we were off.

The first couple miles we were really stuck behind a lot of people. It was really congested and hard to pass people. The roads were clear, so that was nice, I was afraid with the snow the other day it would be slippery, glad it wasn’t. In hind sight, we should have gone closer to the front of pack in the beginning, but oh well. The first 5k was really slow, but then we were able to pick up a bit and that was much more comfortable. We turned around right at the 3 mile mark and it felt good to have one section done. We kept running and picking up our pace a little each mile. We both felt pretty good at the 6 mile mark, probably because we started out nice and slow. We turned around again at the 6 mile mark and headed out for the final stretch. As we were talking on the way home, Stacy confessed that she hated the 2 loops in this race – I’ll remember that when I pick more races for us.

The second half had way less people, because a lot of the people were just doing the 10k and they were finishing shortly after we turned around. We were much more comfortable not weaving in and out of people all the time. I only stopped at a couple water stops. As it turns out, water freezes when it’s zero outside. I had my island boost packets and used those and didn’t really need water anyway.

We ran the last 7 miles all under 10 minute miles and honestly it wasn’t that difficult. Stacy may argue that, but honestly now that I’ve had a little time to reflect on it, it really felt decent. My face was cold and my left hip was a little tight after we were done, but it’s fine now, so I just needed to warm back up.

Our last mile was our fastest mile of the day. We clocked our half marathon at 2:09:30, which was good and the 14 miles were a total of 2:17:36. The pace is 9:50, which is really nice for today.

As the new year starts, I’m grateful that I have the ability to get out there and run. I’m thankful for all of my friends and family that are supportive of my hobby (even if I’m crazy). Thank you all!

Happy New Year! Stay warm!

 

2 Responses to “New Year – Polar Dash 14 miler”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Happy New Year to one crazy girl šŸ™‚

  2. Cindy Says:

    Yes your crazy, but we still love you!!:)


Leave a Reply

