This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Longest run (ever)! February 4, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 3:05 am

I realize it’s been a while since I posted, I haven’t forgotten about y’all (I’m turning southern), just been busy running and trying to stay warm. This polar vortex weather is really getting old. Tonight on the weather they said the high temps this week won’t even make it to what the average LOW should be! I’m seriously over this winter already….end rant.

Last week’s post didn’t happen because I ran my long run inside on the treadmill because there was a blizzard outside – shocking I know! There is nothing good or exciting to write about 13 miles on the treadmill. I watched 2 episodes of Four Weddings to help pass the time. Thankfully there was one other girl at the gym too and we visited a little. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be, but I’m glad I don’t have to do that every week.

You may remember that this year I decided I was shooting for 14 races in 2014, and I declared that some of them would have to be virtual because I can’t necessarily get to that many races – if only! So I was planning to do the second virtual one in February, but when I found the one by Run with Jess, I knew that was the one I wanted to do. She has fun themed races and great shirts.

image

This time she even had hoodies! It’s supper cute and comfy. The race is an 8k and I ended up running it on the treadmill on Tuesday. I finished in 44 minutes and some odd seconds – unfortunately I can’t remember the exact seconds. I still remember the first 8k I ever ran, I finished in exactly 50 minutes. So I’m really happy with my improvement in the few years I’ve been running.

The rest of the week was pretty uneventful. I ran long Wednesday and had lunch at school on Friday – man the lunchroom is loud! And I ran some hills on the treadmill on Friday after work. I felt so strong at the end of that run. I love that feeling!

Ryan spent the weekend at the fish house – not sure it’s called fishing if he doesn’t catch anything – the girls and I checked out some winter activities (sled dogs, skating, snow bikes, snowshoes) in Hutch. It was a lot of fun. We didn’t get to ride in the sled, but we still got to see the dogs work, it was pretty cool.

Yesterday I ran the longest run of the training plan. I added a half mile, just to increase the distance of the longest run in my life! So for now, my longest distance is 15.5 miles. The plan says that the middle 6 are to be at race pace. If I want to run a 2:05 half, my miles needed to be under 9:35. So here is how they fell into the plan: 9:35, 9:18, 9:07, 9:13, 9:00 and 8:44. I’m really happy with how this worked out. The average pace for the whole distance was 9:30. The last time I ran 15 (September) my pace was 9:57. I’m pretty sure it was a much nicer day – yesterday was 9 degrees – Burr! I’m really more suprised  in myself every time I make improvements like this. I know it’s the extra miles I’ve been running, but I’ll take it. The total miles I ran in January was 155. That’s a lot of miles, more than I’ve run any month before. My previous high was 110. Wow!

On a final thought, I signed up for my triathlons for the year. There are 4. Winona (3rd time), Lake Minnetonka (first time – nice point to point swim), Minneapolis Lifetime (first time – a little intimidating because it’s huge), and Maple Grove (3rd time). I’m excited for triathlon season now that my running is improving, I’m kind of interested to see what I can do. I’ll start swimming again in March. I can’t wait. I never thought is be the one excited to start swimming again.

Oh one other thing – I’ve been given some bad news….my favorite race, Iron Girl Duathlon, is not being held in 2014. I’m sad. I truly hope that they come back in 2015. The reason it isn’t happening is that they are redoing the parking lot where the race transition area is set up. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they’ll be back!

I’ve shared my race plans – good and scary. Do you have any plans for the year? Feel free to share them with me!

 

3 Responses to “Longest run (ever)!”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Wow! Look back 10 years…. did you ever see yourself here… where you are with regard to fitness? You are amazing and I mean it. I always tell you that – not in those exact words – but you really are. With a full time job, kids and the fitness/fun time that you put in… you really are amazing. I have signed up for 2 5K’s – the Mother’s Day run at the Mall of America and the Edina 5k with you. 🙂

  2. That’s a lot of tri’s planned for the year! I have a half marathon coming up on Mar.1.


Leave a Reply

