This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Lessons learned May 13, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 7:31 am

This weekend I feel like I learned a few lessons:

1. I am not ready to race the Looney Challenge!  Good thing it isn’t until October, I have a while to train. (it’s a 5k, 10k, and a 10 mile in the same weekend)

2. Running in the wind STINKS!!

3. Running 13.1 miles by myself in the country is not fun.

4. My girls really like and are good at soccer.

5. Stress makes running a mental struggle.

6. Even if it doesn’t seem hot, the sun is still hot, so sunblock is a good idea in May!

Ok, I think I covered them. They aren’t all bad lessons, mostly, but not all.

Earlier this year, I signed up for the Another Mother Runner Prove It Challenge. I didn’t really know what I wanted to prove, but I was hoping to join an online community of mother runners and that is exactly what I did. I followed the training plan, and ran the race on Saturday.  In the morning while I was watching Morgan’s soccer game, the weather was beautiful and calm, by the time I left for running (after getting their lunches) the wind had picked up. Thankfully (or not) I started out with the wind, so I didn’t realize how bad it was. At mile 5, I turned straight into the wind – ugh!! I struggled for the entire rest of my run. I didn’t realize that I was sunburned until a while after I got home.

image

I finished the run in 2:14:15, which isn’t my worst time ever, but I can honestly say that in times that I have raced, virtually or actual races, this was definetly one of the worst mental days for me.

It has been a stressful few weeks at work and we are very busy at home with stuff finishing up with the school year, so I am sure that didn’t help. Also, I ran a fast 5 miles on Monday and Friday last week, which means that I did not “embrace the taper”  like I should have if I wanted to actually do well for this race. Lesson learned!

As I was reading the final newsletter for this race, there was a quote that really worked for me: ” whether you nailed the race or the race nailed you”.  That is what I would say, but I won’t let it get me down. Today was a new day and I ran and didn’t feel so bad. I just needed to go.

image

I hope everyone had a great Mother’s Day! Stay tuned for a Vega Product Review later this week. I was/am lucky enough to get to sample the Pre Workout fuel.

What are you doing to enjoy spring? Learn any good/not so good lessons lately?

 

One Response to “Lessons learned”


Leave a Reply

