This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Esprit de She July 20, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 10:49 am

Thursday evening was the Happy Hour 5k event in Edina, it starts at 6:30 and it’s followed by shopping, food, drinks and fun. This is the second year that my friend Jeri and I have attended this event. It’s a great night out – I don’t get a lot of those.

We decided to use the shuttle service this year. They had some of the fanciest buses I’ve ever seen to ride in. They had leather seats that lined the sides of the bus so you can look at people and talk instead of looking at the back of heads. There were TVs (3 of them) and 2 different bar areas. Wow, it was fancy.

image

Jeri on the shuttle bus

We got dropped off and picked up our packet. The fun thing about all women races is that they have fun stuff in the race goodies. The shirts are always nice and girly too.

image

Race shirt

This race has 2 different expo spots. They have the race start/finish area and then the post race “bubbly bar” area is where the drinks, food and music are. There are vendors set up there too. It also coincides with the Edina crazy days, so the local businesses are set up outside and have specials for the race and some have food and snacks too. It really does cater to women.

I took a picture before it got crazy and one after. You can sure tell the difference. There were over 2,000 signed up.

image

Before

image

After

Jeri and I don’t run together, but we make a plan to find each other after the race. While we were running, she did see me and yelled my name – I yelled back. I was looking for her, but I hadn’t seen her, so I’m glad she saw me. I couldn’t believe how many women there were running. I’ve done races this big, but usually they are longer and aren’t an out and back, so I don’t usually get to see the mass of runners, it’s kind of fun.

My observations about this run are: Wow! There are amazing houses in this neighborhood and man it’s hilly here! Last year, it was a little bit hotter than this year – this year was around 80 some degrees, and I finished in 28:08 last year. This year…..

image

26:03!

I felt like I left it all out there. I wish that I had left out out there 4 seconds sooner, but I was spent at the end. I know I weaved around a lot of people at the beginning, but we started close to the front, so we did what we could. I don’t run a lot of 5k’s that don’t happen at the end of a triathlon, and this was faster than those, so we can call that a win.

image

Jeri & I at the Esprit de She

image

After we ran, we went to the post race party. Waited in line (forever!) for beer (ok 2) and super yummy turkey burgers and hung out. It was great!

There is another version of this race in September in Maple Grove. Jeri was talking about going. I could easily be persuaded to attend! She thought it would be fun to have a group of women to go with. If you live in Minnesota and you want to go, let’s meet there!

 

4 Responses to “Esprit de She”

  1. Jeri Says:

    Great recap Penny. I agree, it was fun. I really enjoyed myself from beginning to end – thank you for that. The pictures turned out good too. I’m kind of thirsty for one of those beers right now… sounds like the next 2 days will be very hot… we might need one 🙂 Have a great weekend.

  2. Jan Says:

    Sounds like such a fun time! Friends make everything better, right?

  3. kristenk Says:

    I also just ran an all-girls race, and it was a lot of fun! I like the girly elements. Mine was a half marathon and it only had cupcakes at the end though – I would have loved a burger!


Leave a Reply

