This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

I’m proud of my year! December 27, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 10:26 pm

I can’t believe I haven’t posted in so long. I’m shocked at how fast December seemed to fly by. I can’t believe it is the end of the year already!

The month of December had a lot of fun activities for our family: band concert, church program, Dance recital, 4 Dance competitions, Cookie making, Claire’s Birthday, pheasant hunting, Yeti challenge training (including a 20 mile run), and finally ice fishing…..no wonder I haven’t blogged!

We started the month with Morgan’s first Dance Competition on the varsity Synergy Dance Team. This was very exciting since she is only in 7th grade. The day they were told who made the competition squad, she was very excited. This helped her confidence after being on the B team for volleyball this fall. The team does really well. Their division is really tough and they have a goal to have less points (less is better) at each competition and understand with so many big teams, winning isn’t easy, but they just want to improve on their score. We are so proud of her, she’s an amazing young lady!

image

The day after that, Claire’s dance class was chosen to perform at the dance instructor’s church. This was her first performance there and she was pretty tickled about being chosen. I like that we actually get to see them in a costume before the recital this way. I had another mom snap a picture of us.

image

Next came Claire’s birthday. We had some cupcakes and did some crafts at church. The day after, I took her and a friend to get pedicures at the nail salon – what a fun party! We had to rush off to the Girl Scout Christmas party after that, but it was a fun idea and a good time for Claire and Ava.

image

image

The Christmas dance recital was on the 19th. I have always loved dance recital day. It is so fun to watch all of their hard work pay off and to see the smiles on their faces as they perform is priceless. Claire especially has the most genuine smile of any girl out there.

image

The day of the dance recital, I used my last PTO day from work. I always like to be off work early so I can get their makeup and hair done, but this time, I had a bigger plan…I wanted to get my last LONG run of 20 miles in before all of the craziness of the weekend set in. We had the recital Friday night, dance competition Saturday and Church Christmas program on Sunday. I got the girls on the bus at 7:10 and had to wait until almost 8 am for it to be light enough to run on the highway – didn’t want to start the day getting hit by a car! I left the house shortly after 8 and headed on the same path I used for my other 20 mile run earlier this fall. I took it easy and just tried to enjoy it. The weather was cool (around 20) and there was just a little wind. The day of my 15 miler, the wind was CRAZY. I finally asked Ryan to drive and pick me up so that I could just run with the wind instead of into it – much better! Anyway, back to the 20 miler…I made my way to town and the 13 mile beep. I felt really good and didn’t make any stops in town like I did last time (to refill my water) and kept going toward home. The most funny part of this run was seeing the mailman on one county road on the south side of town (about mile 8 of my run) and then seeing him again about mile 17 of my run on the north side of town. I wonder what he was thinking of the crazy lady running for hours on a Friday morning. I made it home and honestly felt really good. I was a few seconds per mile slower this 20 mile run than last time (I think 4 seconds per mile), but I felt good! I was sure to hydrate well so that I would be ready for the recital that night and I even had enough energy to stop at Wal-mart on my way home from the recital! I’m guessing it was the chicken broth I drank after my run that helped my hydration and my sodium levels and made for an easy recovery. No matter the reason, I felt great and I am happy that I made another 20 mile run a success!

image

After all of that fun, we finally arrived at Christmas. This was my year to have my family here on Christmas Eve. I don’t enjoy being the hostess, but it was a success, so it’s all good!

image

And this weekend, one last 13 mile run (I’ll confess my yearly total after the year ends) for me and a weekend of ice fishing for Ryan. I took the girls to one of our favorite resturants (Mongo’s) for lunch today for girls day out while Ryan was away for the weekend. It was a good day and then I got a suprise visit from a great friend that has moved to Wyoming and was home visiting for Christmas. It was a great visit and it reminds me of how much I miss her! As the year winds down, I have a lot to be thankful for in my life and I can’t wait to see what next year brings! 

image

I saw this earlier today and I had to save it – it’s the perfect way to think!

Happy New Year to all!!

 

2 Responses to “I’m proud of my year!”

  1. Jeri Says:

    That was a good read. Holy cow girl… you have been busy. Thanks for sharing pictures of the girls doing what they love to do. They are adorable. And… I agree – Claire has THE best smile – she seems so genuinely happy all the time. Great job on your 20 miler in the cold. You did have a great year. Cheers to you in the new one. Belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all.


Leave a Reply

