This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

By Faith…. January 29, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 4:40 pm
Tags:

I’m trying something new this year. I joined an online book club. Each month the person who came up with the idea (Sarah) will give us a theme and we get to read whichever book we pick and then review it on our blog. Sarah then has a link-up on her blog for all that are participating and we are all listed with our link so we can all read other bloggers reviews and pick new books to read. Sounds like a great idea – I’m in!!
BBC2015_zps90c7e1b8
January’s theme was a Motivational Book. Hmmm, not usually my first choice, so off to the library I go. I walk in and my 2 favorite librarians are at the desk and I say “I need a motivational book.” One (Gabby) looks at the other (Jackie) and Jackie walks away. Gabby is talking to her as she goes and she just nods her head in agreement. They both knew the book I should read and all it took were 5 words. I love that about my library! Anywho…onto the review:
By Faith, Not By Sight
The Inspiring Story of a Blind Prodigy, a Life-Threatening Illness, and an Unexpected Gift
by: Scott MacIntyre with Jennifer Schuchmann
I’ll start with this info for those of you that watch American Idol. This is the man that appeared in Season eight of American Idol.
At the beginning of the book, you wonder how they are going to make a whole book because it seems to start at a point in his life where everything seemed to be working out for him. He was 19 and graduating from college with honors, he was one of the speakers at the graduation ceremony and was invited to dinner with the Dean after the ceremony and would soon be continuing his studies in London. That is all wonderful news for a sighted person, it is even far more extraordinary for a blind person to have accomplished so much at such a young age. Unfortunately, the wonderful day was halted with a phone call from his doctor. Scott and his parents are far stronger than I can ever hope to be. They understood the news, but continued on with everything they needed to do and were strong through the journey.
“Is it possible to be high on a mountain and deep in a valley at the same time?”
I don’t want to give away too much of the book, because I really think it’s a great read and you should definitely consider reading it.
During the good times of their lives, the MacIntyre family praised God for what he gave them. During the difficult times, they asked God for strength. Their faith never wavered. The book made me consider my faith. How I could be different, how could I be stronger if I had a stronger faith?
Because I hadn’t watched American Idol when Scott was on, I found that part of the book interesting too. It really shows some behind the scenes that you can’t know/see while watching the show. After the finale for the season, the top 10 performers get to go on tour with Idol. I found that interesting to read about too.
I enjoyed the book. I find it amazing how people are so able to overcome struggles and how during those struggles, they are still able to find peace in knowing God and understanding that he has a plan and they are able to trust Him.
My favorite quote from the book came near the end:
“But I believe God is bigger than all of this and has a plan for my life that reaches far beyond the circumstances of today. I have dealt with these kinds of situations before and know that everything happens for a reason, and in time, I very well may look back on this and finally realize it was for the best. That something better was waiting just around the corner.”
I hope that I, as well as all of you, can be strong enough to believe this is true in times of trouble when we need encouragement.

 

5 Responses to “By Faith….”

  1. Chris Says:

    Well said, and may we remember that God is there each day and does give us strength each day. He is not only there for us in times of trouble. Sounds like a great book.

  2. Cindy Says:

    Well said, my friend.

  3. Jen Says:

    Love the story about the librarians!

  4. Mary Long Says:

    This sounds like a book I would enjoy. The personal stories that lift you up are the most motivational in my opinion.

  5. Carrie Says:

    Wow, you have awesome librarians. I love the sound of this book – what a great story.


Leave a Reply

