This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

Running, running, treadmill running February 21, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 9:26 pm

When we last spoke, I declared that I’ve been running inside and that I’ve been trying some new workouts to keep it interesting.  I’ve been continuing with those workouts and it’s been going pretty well.

Both the girls and I had the day off on Monday, but that didn’t give us a free day, we helped package soup for the local food shelf with our church and then we were lucky and got to go to the dentist…yipee! Here’s a new one for you: I am so old that one of my filings is starting to rust…yes, I’m like an old car! Seriously this is something I’ve never heard of, but it did make me laugh. It’s a sure sign you are old when you start to rust. πŸ™‚

Tuesday I did my new 5 mile workout again. I’m not sure it was easier, but I am going to keep using it. It gets me 5 miles in under 45 minutes and that is even with walking the first 2 minutes! Wednesday night I ran my regular 8 miles. My music player was dead which was a little bummer, but I visited with the trainer and a friend at the gym, so that helped pass the time.

Then, the best thing happened on Friday…I went to the gym to run after work (because I had gone to book club during lunch) and all of the treadmills were full! The temperature was nice and the wind had died down and it was sprinkle snowing. So, I put on my outside run clothes and off I went. I haven’t run outside in weeks and it felt so good! I got in a nice 5 miles. It was refreshing and exactly what I needed. I’ve never been so happy that the gym was busy. I would have run inside because I thought it was still windy and this forced me out – ahhh, what a relief!

Today was a busy girl scout day and tomorrow I get to run long because I have time. I will be running inside because of the fact that it is supposed to be 2 degrees and it snowed last night which means the path will be slick as can be – ugh! And Monday night I think I’m going to swim…I think I almost forget how to swim it’s been so long since I’ve been in the pool! I can hardly wait!

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

2 Responses to “Running, running, treadmill running”

  1. Ug. Working out without music or conversation is brutal sometimes. High five for still getting it done. πŸ™‚

  2. Mary Long Says:

    I can not wait to start running outside again. I do not have a gym membership anymore and don’t own a treadmill… I started doing new workouts at the beginning of the month but that was short lived and I became a total slacker! UGH! The freezing temps did me in. Good job on getting your workouts in though!


Leave a Reply

