This Penny Tris

a blog about a mom who tris (swim, bike, run, parent and more)

April has begun…That was fast April 5, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — pennyverdeck @ 8:28 pm

I can’t believe that it is April already. This year has gone fast and I’m having a hard time keeping up with blogging. Now that spring has come, I’ll have better running and racing to talk about, so here goes – let’s catch up!

I think the last time I wrote about running was after the Get Lucky Race. If I remember correctly, that went pretty well even if I had doubts the day before. I did knock 15 seconds off from last year. If I could do that at every race this year, I would be pumped! Anyhoo, back to training talk!

I have been lucky enough to get outside for most of my runs lately. I even did an outdoor interval run one day. I’m not going to lie, it was tough! I got all of my intervals in and my average pace wasn’t so bad (I’ll call that a physical win, but a mental struggle). Then last week Monday, I set out at lunch to run and my legs were like lead. I set out for 5, but at the 2 mile turn around and having set a 10 minute per mile pace so far, I turned around, but I made myself do it as a negative split run – get back faster than I got there. I did, the 3rd mile was 9:09 and the 4th mile was 8:17!!! That was amazing! (I will call that a physical struggle and a mental win!) Wednesday was a record high day here in Minnesota. It was HOT compaired to the rest of the days, but it was SO WINDY that there was no way I could run outside. I headed inside and found the treadmill. I went in with a different attitude this time – you will enjoy this and you will get in the 10 miles you were hoping for outside – it helped. I decided on speed intervals instead of hills. It was difficult, but no where near as difficult as most of the other long runs inside. (That one I’m giving a win-win!)

I have been entering a contest for 3 weeks now. There are 3 remaining weeks. The contest is put on by Newton Running and Timex. The prize is free shoes and a new gps watch. Here are my entries so far:

image

image

(I had to turn the town upside down for this one!)

image

I was lucky enough to win a prize as a Semi-Finalist the first week with my HAPPY path. I was very excited. I did not hear anything about EMPOWERED yet, and FEEL THE MAGIC is open until Wednesday. There have been some great entries, but I have hope that I will win one of the weeks. I still have one week undecided on what to run – anybody have an idea??

Last week I made the decision that this week I need to cut back my miles a little before my Goldy’s 10 Mile race next week Saturday. I have been struggling through some of my runs and I think that a little cut back will help me feel refreshed on Saturday.

Wish me luck on being able to cut back on the miles. I’m hoping for 4, 5 and then 6 or 7 Wednesday night instead of 8-9 and then maybe 2 Thursday and rest on Friday. If you take those distances, that is only 15-18 before the 10 mile race on Saturday. Last week I got in 33 miles.

I hope you all had a great weekend – back to work tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

